The closest I have come to writing in two weeks

I edited a short story of 6,000 words and sent it off.  I thought it would sort of appease the urge I’m having to write, but it only made it worse.  As a result, I have decided to try to begin the ending to Broken Skies tonight.  And maybe, if I can stay up really late, begin that short story that has been poking my frazzled mind with a stick lately.

Anyway, a bit about the story I subbed to Black Velvet Shadows this morning.  A while back I sent it off to Shroud’s ill-fated The Bleeding Desert anthology.  Once that was killed off, I tried a few other markets and got two different responses: 1) It’s a bit long and 2)Not quite what we’re looking for.  So I edited it once again this morning and sent it into the void once more.

I’m close to this story because it was supposed to be the prologue to Blood Routes.  But the conenction I was trying to make between this story, “The Way Down”, and Blood Routes was far too vague and wouldn’t even be realized until the very end of the novel.  So I have given it one final edit in an attempt to make it more of a story capable of a gut-punch without the added weight of Blood Routes.  I’ve never really amputated a story like this before, but we shall see.  The basic gist of “The Way Down” is L’amour meets Lovecraft in a very clasutrophobic space.

Oh,…and NOW because I’m sure no one expects me to participate in this:

I’ve been TAGGED:

What are your nicknames? For some reason, my college room mate stuck one on me that I have never been able live down.  Call it cheating if you want, but I will not reveal it here.  Just know that I DO have one and I hate it.

What game show and/or reality show would you like to be on? Wheel of Fortune.  I’m awesome at WOF and literally get angry when the idiot contestants only have 4 blanks left and can’t figure it out.

What was the first movie you bought in VHS or DVD? I’m not exactly sure.  I do know that it was either E.T. or The Goonies.  On VHS.

What is your favorite scent? Call me a sell-out of you want…but Starbucks.  Oh, and to be cheesy (and truthful), the smell of my daughter’s hair when she just gets out of the bath.

If you had a million dollars that you could only spend on yourself, what would you do with it? Purchase everything Brian Eno has ever released, buy a new, much larger house, spend about a week in Barnes and Noble.

What one place have you visited that you can’t forget and want to go back to? Jamaica.  It’s amazing…especially in Montego Bay around dusk.

Do you trust easily?  It varies.  Usually not.

Do you generally think before you act, or act before you think? Again, it varies.  Depends on the mood I’m in.

Is there anything that has made you unhappy lately?  Having no job.  Oh, and this endless void of time between new seasons of Lost.

Do you have a good body image?  I’m scrawny and my body is incapable of building muscle.  And I don’t care.

What is your favorite fruit? Strawberries.

What websites do you visit daily? Graveside Tales Forum, First Showing, CNN, various blogs

What have you been seriously addicted to lately?  Down-tempo chill music, Fruity Pebbles and Craigslist.

What kind of person do you think the person who tagged you is?  Quirky, talented and possesses a unique sense of humor.

What’s the last song that got stuck in your head?  “Mascara” – Deftones (“there’s still blood in your hair; got the bruise of the year…”)

What’s your favorite item of clothing?  Baggy hooded sweatshirts.

Do you think Rice Krispies are yummy? No.  I would go so far as to say that they suck.

What would you do if you saw $100 lying on the ground? Very clearly announce, “Woah, man, I can’t believe I just dropped that $100 bill.  Whew…that was a close one.”  Then I would quickly insert it into my pocket.  (What?…I’m unemployed…)

What items could you not go without during the day?  Is music an item?  If not, then I would say coffee.  But really, music first.

What should you be doing right now?  Continuing to abuse Monster, Craigslist and Career Builder.  Or writing.  Yet, see the title of this post.

3 comments

  1. “L’amour meets Lovecraft in a very clasutrophobic space.”

    Whoa man, sign me up! Sounds brilliant, I’ll have the fingers crossed that I get to see it in print soon.

    Also: I should’ve thought of music myself. God knows I talked about it enough… weird how I took that and coffee for granted. I’d love to see someone on WoF who could actually solve a puzzle– I always catch the end of it and get angry too. :/

Leave a Reply

