Inspirations and Motivations

As has been the case for the last two weeks, there ins’t much happening in Barry’s Writing World.  I added about 1,500 words to Blood Routes this morning and am now trying to figure out a way to end this odd story I plan on subbing to Dead Science.

So, as a filler post of sorts, I thought I’d try out something I’ve often thought about doing on this blog.  And that is posting commentary on music, movies, TV and whatever else I find worthy that has inspired and moved me over the years, particulary in regards to my writing.  (This may become a regular thing, so be prepared).

For this go round, I give to you the third album in the Deftones’ catalogue, White Pony.  I think it’s important to point out to those of you that may not know much about the Deftones, that they are not the simply defined alt-metal band they have somehow been pigeon-holed as.  As a matter of fact, I challenge you to find a band that has shown as much growth and innovation in the psat 5 or 6 years as the Deftones have.  White Pony was their subtle drift away from the alt-metal movement, a way for them to head into the more experimental zones that most members of the band loved.  This album showcases their ties to music like Mogwai, The Cure and even Depeche Mode.

Songs like “Korea” and “Elite” are included in White Pony for diehard fans of the Deftones’ heavier stuff, but the highlights of the album are the more experimtnal, softer (and at times, darker) songs such as “Teenager”, “Digital Bath”, “Change (In the House of Flies)” and the haunting “Passenger”.  I recall once trying to write a short story to go along with the song “Digital Bath” and while it was a pretty disturbing story, it wasn’t very good in quality.  This album was playing when I put the final paragraph down to the first novel I ever wrote (it, too, was horrible and rest with shame in a drawer).  This album is the perfect mixture of angst, beauty and darkness and I often find myself listening to it when Writer’s Block is attacking.

Now, for those of you unfamiliar with the album, here’s “Digital Bath”.  The video is sort of lame, but the song still gives me chills in a haunting and pleasing way. And besides, if you pay attention to the lyrics, it’s a pretty creepy song.

Leave a Reply

