Scatterbrained

I hate going an entire week without posting.  It means that there is either nothing going on or that when I do post again, there is much to report.  This post is somewhere in the middle.

First of all, the BIG NEWS that I was raving about on the last post is still in the works.  It’s a looooong process and, when it’s all said and done, may come down to nothing.  So while I’m still a bit weary of talking at length about it, I’ll give the bare(subtle) bones:  I can’t write scripts; screenplay format frightens me.  Yet I threw a pitch for a television series towards Certain People and we have been in talks for a little over a week regarding the sloppy script for the pilot I wrote, the synopsis and various character sketches and ideas.  As of right now, due to money concerns, things are idling.  From the little I know about this whole process, this could take a month to start going, or it could take 3 years.  And even then, as I said, it could boil down to nada.  But I’ll keep you guys posted.

Also, I’m still awaiting final word on The Bleeding Room, which, if you recall was passed ahead to a final reading stage a little over a month ago.  I went back and reread it and now almost hope that they ask for a rewrite.  I like the way it ended, but I came up with a whole new, twisted way to end it.  Of course, this is a moot point as of right now.

In other news, the ToC for Northern Haunts has been released.  I would post it here, but it’s on a gazillion other blogs as it is.  You can read it at Shroud’s blog.

Now, the thing that I’m really excited about (for the last day or so).  Typically, when I get an idea for a short story, I start writing in immediately.  If it sucks, I go back and alter it however I see fit.  But the other day as I was driving into town, I passed two guys jogging/running.  They looked bored, lifeless, and as if they did this thing every day…so much that they really didn’t even know why they were doing it anymore.  And from that, a story was born.  But it has not been written yet.  This has the potential to be a very harrowing story and I want to make sure I give it the care and treatment that I would a novel.  With a working title of “The Mannerisms of Runners”, I’m aiming for a 3,500-4,000 word story.  I plan on starting it this afternoon.

And that’s about it.  I added about 2,000 words to Blood Routes over the last week and roughly 5,500 to Broken Skies (which looks to have about 20 pages left and then a big fat THE END).

‘Til next time guys…

7 comments

  1. Thanks for the kind comments everyone. Let me stress, however, that there is not yet anything to celebrate. This is actually one of those cases where I am going out of my way to not get excited about it.

    Regardless, thanks!

Leave a Reply

