Halloween approaches…

The week leading up to Halloween is definitely one of my favorite weeks of the year.  It was this way when I was a child and it is still with me now that I’m a parent.  My daughter is only 19 months old, but I have decided that we will start the tradition of watching It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown on the night before Halloween.  And yes, I have it on DVD….what of it?

Also, the wife and I will be carving our pumpkins tonight. I still haven’t decided on the generic devil’s face or the haunted house scene that is probably far too difficult for me to pull off.  Regardless, I’ll post the pictures here when they’re done…no matter how terrible it ends up.

And to end today’s short post, this is perhaps my favorite Halloween-themed song.  Pretty much anything involving Stephen Lynch is hilarious anyway, but this song, to me, really represents the Halloween spirit.

5 comments

  1. Me too, I’ve literally been having dreams about it for two days (last night I dreamed I was being robbed by a Japanese tourist while decorating my garage…weird).

    We stopped doing pumpkins a few years ago; after our first Halloween in Las Vegas, we figured out that since it’s still in the 80s and 90s through the end of October, pumpkins turn into pumpkin-colored goo within days, and it was just too much hassle to deal with carving them during the week leading up to Halloween. Here is the last one we did (note the two Bark Scorpions I caught running around the house and stuck them to the pumpkin with toothpicks): http://lh5.ggpht.com/billydontlikeclowns/SQX_5f5KtPI/AAAAAAAAABw/XsKOsPKgzHI/s576/scorpkin-small.jpg

  2. I look forward to trick or treating in my area as well. the kids get candy and the grown-ups get beer. I just have to remember to bring the kids.

  3. I have much more fun trick or treating now with my four year old than i did when I was a kid. I was that bad kid who never dressed up and ran around with a bunch of losers – I was the kid with the eggs and the cigarettes and the beer. What a waste…

Leave a Reply

