Missing Time

You know what’s scary?  I realized this morning that I hadn’t written anything new since last Friday.  It was pretty frightening.  So to make up for it, I edited a few pages of Broken Skies and started tinkering with a short story idea that is tentatively titled “All the Little Secrets”.

I think that period of time is the longest I have gone without spending at least 30 minutes on my own writing in nearly a year or so.  It stinks, but at the same time I think I’ll allow it since NaNo is right around the corner.  Oh, and speaking of NaNo…

I have also jotted down the opening line of my NaNo novel The Masks of Our Fathers.  It reads: “Jason Melhor drove out to his father’s old fishing cabin to kill himself.”

The more I keep thinking about this idea, the more worried I am that it is going to seem like a copy-cat.  There are shades of the first Saw as well as King’s Gerald’s Game.  But in the midst of it all is a plot that I think is pretty original and will hopefully take away from these comparisons.  We shall see.  I think, possibly, from time to time throughout November I’ll be posting brief preview sections of the novel on here.  Sort of as a reading group of sorts…

Also, one more day until Halloween and I am very happy to find that I am still as excited as I was when I was a kid.  We have already tried on my daughter’s costume and not only does it fit perfectly, but it is sickingly cute.  She’ll be going as a black cat (I lost the argument of having her go as a witch) and I’ll try to put some pictures on here after Halloween.

Okay…now to do the job-related writing stuff.  Oh wait, that’s right…I don’t have a job.  Still, freelance stuff is better than nothing I suppose.  (Note: if any of you are in need of an editor or proposal/contracts writer, cough cough, wink wink, nudge nudge)…

9 comments

  1. I’m supposed to be writing the first line of my NaNo project today (kind of cheating but the first couple of lines can take me hours to get right and there is no time for that palaver in November) but the internet keeps distracting me. Your first line is really good – has a hook and every good beginning needs one of those.

  2. Cate – Thanks for the thumbs up. I tend to get wordy, so to try to keep a novel to under 75,000 words I need to get that hook right away. And I’m in your boat as well…it’s always the first 2 or 3 paragraphs that stick it to me.

    Biellen: Thanks for swinging by. It’s always nice to see a new face!

    Aaron: Never assume. (and to be perfectly honest, I’m not sure about his fate yet).

  3. I had a character who surprised me in my short, Lullaby (quick, it is in macabre Cadaver’s October issue) I really didn’t know where the story was going until I wrote the last line. Like being surprised by my own imagination. Have fun in November.

  4. The worst is when you find yourself “ripping off” one of your own stories. I really have to stop getting my characters laid.

    I miss dressing up for Halloween. Ying doesn’t celebrate, so he gets amused seeing me gussy up the house for the holiday. We have a bat over our dinner table!

  5. The hardest part for me when writing a novel is always the first few lines.
    After that, well….
    I’ve never really gotten too much farther than that.
    But, this November, THAT WILL CHANGE!
    May we all write incredibly wordy genius novels next month! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

