The laziest marketing campaign ever

In my post yesterday, I listed off the projects I wanted to finish up in 2009. And somehow, sadly enough, I omitted one that I have been working on for about 18 months. It is my serial e-novel, Blood Routes.  I opened the story up this morning, added another post to the site, and did a rough estimate of what is left to be written.

If I can make myself follow a schedule (yeah, right), the entire manuscript should be done by the end of February and it should be fully posted in its rough draft by the end of March.  Similar to Broken Skies, the ending to this one is going to be a bitch.  But for different reasons…the build-up to the end of Broken Skies sort of feels like the cumbersome 45 minutes that it takes a Stephen Spielberg movie to reach it’s climax.  And then, once I get to the end, there’s something very Lovecraftian going on.  Also, I have no qualms with admitting that a certain creature in the story was heavily inspired by one of the monsters from the late 80s cartoon The Real Ghostbusters.

Anyway, I am going through all of this for a reason.  Dale over at Graveside Tales has been a big help in the development of Blood Routes.  He understands that I am very much illiterate when it comes to the inner-workings of the internets.  Because of that, I have no idea if I have done everything that I need to do in order to properly plug Blood Routes.  All of the ZEROs in the comments section seems to indicate that I have not.

So, if you have nothing better to do, I personally invite (aka, politely ask with a hint of desperation) you to give Blood Routes a try if you haven’t already.  If you get 2 or 3 chapters in and think that it sucks, that’s fine.  But be honest and tell me.  I have segmented the chapters and sections so that each one should take no more than 5-15 minutes to read.  As of right now, it is at chapter 10 (about 78 pages into it).

And that is without a doubt the laziest marketing campaign in the history of lazy marketing campaigns (well, the Where’s the Beef? ads may still own that title).

5 comments

  1. Thanks guys. And thanks a LOT Joshua for helping out in such a way. Now I just hope the story was worth the pestering.

  2. Cool, I’ll have to check it out…that’s what my vision with Gristle and Smoke was over on WordPress, but I just never found the time…good job on keeping on it. I really do think it’s a good way to get your name out (once you pick the lock of getting some readers). I’ll throw a plug up on my blogspot next time I post…

Leave a Reply

