Inbox fixed

After complaning about a lack of responses yesterday, I received two of them this morning.

One was a rejection for my story “The Mannerisms of Runners” which was turned away from the guys over at Brain Harvest. I have since tidied it up and am looking elsewhere to send it. This story had already made the transition from 2,200 word short story to 635 word flash very nicely. If it doesn’t sell in the near future, it may also have to endure the transition to poem. (By the way, it seems as if I am running out of places to send flash fiction. Anyone got any suggestions)?

The other response came from the fine folks at The New Bedlam Project. For those of you that have expressed confusion in the comments sections of a few posts over the past week or so, THIS is the project that was shrouded in secrecy. I, as well as a few other writers, were approached to contribute stories for the first edition of the project and my story, “In the Broken Arms of Sleep” will be included. I’m very excited about this acceptance for two reasons:

     1 -It gave me a reason to use a very odd plot that I had been having a hard time finding a home for

     2 – It was the first time I had ever been approached to contribute material (a very cool addition to this…3 days after receiving this request, I got another that, I’m afraid, will have to remain a secret until the end of May or so).

So yes, apparently the cure for getting no responses on your stories is to openly complain about it on your blog.  And if you don’t have a blog, I recommend you get one.  All the cool kids are doing it.

They’re also on Twitter, where I have been a member for about 2 months but keep forgetting to broadcast to everyone.  Find and follow me under the name bnapier.

Oh, and, as if I didn’t have enough going on, I have recently become involved in Absolute Minimum.  Check it out if you get a chance and, better yet, send us something!

8 comments

  1. Oh this New Bedlam is going to be so brilliant. I can’t wait to see it, Barry. Also, I love the suspense of all these secrets. I wonder how many of the bloggy-writer group are sitting on a few of them– I seem to have one perpetually lately too.

  2. My inbox is still broken. At least to editors. Although they have made appearances in my blog lately, which is just weird. Congrats on the sale and now I can’t wait to hear what comes about in May. Damn you and your suspense.

    As far as flash goes, hhmm. I guess I don’t know where you are submitting (or have submitted) stuff so I can’t help you there.

  3. Katey – Best of luck with YOUR secret

    Danielle – Thanks! Always cool to see new people shoe up here. Please come back frequently!

    Jamie – I’d like to know how to get editors to visit MY blog. Also, thanks for the beta reading!

    Natalie – Thanks

    Joshua – I never know whether to call you Josh or Johsua. Either way, thanks!

    Cate – And YAY for you, too!

  4. I’ve found that I have an on-again-off-again relationship with Twitter. It’s recently moved back to “on” since my wife and I got blackberries.

Leave a Reply

