At a snail’s pace

I have had absolutely no time to write as of late. The best I have been able to do is some editing and a very quick and messy 300 words that I hope will become an effective short story.

However, to make up for the lack of writing, I have sent out 4 new submissions in the lsat few days.  One of these was “Jinx” a story that has seen several short lists but, in the end, was always passed on.  Another of these subbed stories is “The Mannerisms of Runners” and after a fifth and hopefully final edit, it is probably my favorite peice of flash that I have ever written.  But, as is usually the case, if I like it then that probably means that there is something wrong with it…

I’m also waiting to hear back on two shortlists that are due soon: Allegory and the …Meurtos anthology.  I am also still awaiting word on my shortlisted position for the Dead Bait antho, but I don’t think they’re sending out responses until next month.

Phew…for someone that hasn’t written much lately, there sure does seem to be a lot of things to keep a check on!

4 comments

  1. My favourite stories are always the ones that the editors don’t want. I’ve never figured it out. I hope to write something that I hate later today.

  2. Jamie – Thanks! I certainly hope so.

    Natalie – um, er, no comment (?)

    Cate – Best of luck in writing something hateful….

Leave a Reply

