Sick day

So for the first time in about 4 years, I went to the doctor today.  With The Wife about to go into labor any day now, we figured it would be for the best if I was in good health during delivery day.  So I went to the doctor to check out whatever it is that has been plaguing me for the last week or so (not to mention the very painful and new symptom that introduced itself last night).

And here are the results.  After a speedy 25 minute doctor’s visit, I found out that I have a severe upper respiratory infection.  And bronchitis.  And IBS (which is a much less-embarrassing and technical way to say irritable bowel syndrome).  Some of you may think this crosses the too-much-information line, but I bring it up for a reason.  Apparently, I am eating unhealthy.  And in order for this IBS attack to properly run its course and leave me pain free, I must stay away from caffeine for at least 4-5 days.  Yes…no coffee for almost a week!

Inconceivable, I know.   But oh my God, I had no idea how badly such a common problem could hurt.  I was seriously waiting for a Geiger-inspired creature to come bursting out of my stomach at 3:30 in the morning.

On the writing front, there is not much to speak of.  It looks like one of the places that was supposed to send out final responses for their short lists is running a week or so behind.  Also, the month of March is nearly over which means that Allegory should be sending out their final decisions fairly soon.

As for Birdwatching From Mars, we are currently looking at another artist.  This was another industry that I had no idea went to such lengths to reach perfection.  This is the 5th artist we’ve worked with and, in my opinion, the best so far.  So hopefully we can bring him aboard.

Also, if there are any graphic artists out there anywhere reading this, I may have the need for some promotional work for the title.  If interested, e-mail me (e-mail info in the bio).

Well, back to work.  Sick or not, there are still reports on the effects of client satisfaction on your business to be written.  Oddly enough, I got a short story idea out of doing research for this assignment.  Maybe I’ll actually find time to start it soon.

8 comments

  1. No coffee?? It’s almost like the cure is worse than the symptom!

    Seriously though, feel better soon. Lots of fluids, healthy eating, and rest. Then, when you’re better, you can roll around in a pile of chocolate covered coffee beans : )

  2. Natalie – why would anyone want to ruin coffee like that? 🙂
    Aaron – Indeed. But it is a necessary evil…
    Jeremy – I refuse to drink decaf coffee. I just don’t see the point. It’s worse than non-alcoholic beer…

  3. No caffeine?? What??!!?? How will you work? How will you live? HOW WILL YOU SURVIVE?? Can you please share with us the details of your crappy eating so we all know what to avoid?

  4. Oh and, re: decaf. Decaf Komodo or Sumatra from Starbucks is actually pretty good and satisfying. It cures the urge to taste coffee-although not the buzz. My Hubby has heart disease so drinking caffeine and squeezing those arteries is not a good idea, but he loves the taste so he indulges in decaf….and then takes a nap.

  5. Speaking of giving yourself IBS, I’ve been drinking this Probiotics tea. I love hot tea. My pantry is slammed packed with hot teas. And this is great stuff. Lemon and Ginger flavored. Made by Bigelow. Best tasting stuff I’ve ever had in my life. But the box should come with a warning. Don’t drink 20 cups of this tea in less than a week. Or never drink over 4 cups in one sitting. Otherwise, you’ll be sitting on the toilet every hour.

    Apparently probiotic tea is used as a colon cleanse. Not sure if it’s part of the Dual Action Cleanse formulary by Klee Irwin but it should be.

    P.S. I just reactivated wordpress. Couldn’t get my old url back but whatever. I also got Twitter and am a hypocrite for doing so because I’ve been a hater. But I figured fuck it. If you got into a Norton anthology via a Twitter post, I’m not letting those types of opportunities pass me by.

Leave a Reply

