Acceptances, Cover Art and SCRAP!

While we adjust to having another child in the house (we already have 1, our 2 year-old Emma), the last few days have been a blur.  There has been baby’s crying, a 2 year old learning that she needs to share attention and what could very well be the worst case of allergies in the history of allergies (of course, that would be me).

However, there have been some pleasantries amongst it all.  I found out Monday afternoon that I have had two poems accepted into Dark Recesses.  One of the poems, “Well Rested Towns” is perhaps one of my favorite poems I have written.  The other, “The Misogyny of Writing” is a more traditional macabre horror piece.

Also, I received an e-mail from the editor of the horror poetry anthology Death in Common in which he let me see the cover art for the anthology which, as of right now, is in the printer’s hands.  It is the first time my name has appeared on a blurb on a book’s cover.  He also have me permission to share it, so here it is:

death

Oh, and I have also started receiving preliminary sketches for the characters from Birdwatching from Mars and they are looking very impressive.

On the productivity end, there isn’t much to discuss.  I knocked out the first draft of a poem and contributed about 250 words to the Still Untitled First Book of My Paranormal Series.

And now…the Scrap Awards!

Jamie Eyberg and Catherine Gardner have both nominated me for an Honest Scrap Award!  I am both flattered and honored.  Here’s how it works.

The Award and Rules:

This award is bestowed upon a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant.

The rules are as follows:

1. When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real.

2. Choose a minimum of 5 blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have five friends. Show the five random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon.

3. List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on!

Now, while I’m sure I am leaving plenty of fine people out, here are my 5 nods.  I am choosing these among all others mainly because I make a habit of reading their blogs regularly and take away something valuable nearly every time.  (Note: for some reason, my links aren’t showing up today…not to worry though…all of these names are located to the right on my blogroll).

1. Aaron Polson – He’s teaching lit classes which is what I want to do if the writing thing doesn’t pan out.  Also, he’s a hell of a writer.  “Reciprocity” and his “Sump stories” (sorry, Aaron…didn’t know what to refer to them as) are amazing and have stuck with me.  His blog is always highly entertaining and a treasure trove of reading suggestions.

2. Catherine Gardner – This is an absolutely true story: Cate’s is the first blog I read in the morning.  I do this because even her blog posts are well written and witty.  Also, she has her finger on the pulse of all of us other struggling writers, so her blog roll is a must…a resource for writers, if you will.  On top of all of that, her passion for her Poisoned Apple story, entwined with her amazing short fiction, makes her a sure bet for fame some day…and hopefully she will remember all of the little people…

3.Jamie Eyberg – As a beta reader, Jamie is awesome.  He never tiptoes around anything and a recent post at his blog describes how he feels about reading others’ work.  It is not only kind, but something that all aspiring writers should think long and hard about.  Sure to give an honest appraisal of his own writing and progress, Jamie’s blog is a nice peek inside the life of an up and coming writer.

4.  Jeremy Kelly – Similar to Jamie, Jeremy’s blog is also a nice every day description of what a writer goes through to bring their imaginings to life.  I’m not sure how he will take this, but I’m not quite sure what it is about his blog that keeps me reading…each post is simply well written, informative and never dry.  Kudos, Jeremy.

5. Carrie Harris – I had to wait until I actually messaged her on Twitter before I could start leaving comments on her blog (she had her blogspot settings set to default where WordPress users could not post…bad blogspot).  Her posts are hilarious and insightful all at the same time.  And her ongoing Twilight parody has brightened quite a few of my days.

And now 10 honest things about me:

1 – I never understood the hype around the Godfather movies.  I would go so far as to say that they’re boring.

2 – The first story I ever wrote involved an artist that killed people and then used their intestines for weaving baskets.  I was 15 at the time.  I wasted no time and subbed it to Weird Tales.  I still have the rejection letter hanging on my cork board.

3 – You know those geeky Star Trek kids in high school?  Well, multiply that by about 5 and then you have an idea of how obssessed I was with The X-Files.

4 – I have seen the Deftones in concert 5 times.  6 if you count Team Sleep (Chino Moreno’s side band).  While I mostly listen to ambient and electronic music, the Deftones, somehow, have always remained my favorite band.

5 – I read Stephen King’s It for the first time when I was 12.  I wasn’t really sure what Bev was doing in the sewers near the end when they were all kids.  (Hey, I was naive).

6 – I have a blood red seething anger for anything about, related to or involving Metallica.

7 – My favorite coffee is Starbucks’ Pike’s Peak with half a cream and 2 sugars.

8 – Yes, I am a UFO enthusiast.  Yes, I believe that there is no way the Egyptians and Mayans were that advanced without outside help.  Yes, I believe that there was once life on Mars.  (This makes #3 all the worse and also describes why my circle of friends was very limited in high school).

9 – I have never read a Michael Crichton book I ever really liked, but the movie for Sphere is in my top 20.

10 – My parents live in a house that could very well be haunted.  While growing up there I saw the same ghost 3 times.  My brother saw this ghost twice.  My parents hear people whistling when no one is there.  The cats freak out for no reason at all.  One time, I actually saw a TV Guide get pushed off of a table and sent about ten feet across the room. When you consider the fact that I suffered from sleep paralysis growing up AND lived in the basement of said haunted house, perhaps we can see where my love and obssession with dark things comes from.

7 comments

  1. Love that cover art.

    Thanks for the nomination – I think everyone should make my blog their first destination of the day. In fact, I think everyone should make my blog and not their blog their home page.

    You were one scary 15 year old.

  2. Sweet list. I once saw a chair move a couple of inches in my parent’s old house, and there was no one else in the room.

  3. Congrats on the acceptances, lovely cover art, and I’m confused about the seething anger…fan or hater?

    Me, I love Metallica before The Black Album. After that, meh. Lars will always be a wuss.

  4. Cate – I was the quiet kid that everyone shied away from. No, not really…

    Jamie – My brother claims to have seen that same sort of thing as well

    Natalie – Yea! Join the hatewagon!

    Aaron – hater all the way. I can ALMOST tolerate the first 4 minutes of “One” but that’s about it. The only sing they ever did I actually LIKED was “Whiskey in a Jar” but that’s not even their song, so…

Leave a Reply

