Picking favorites

Now that The Bleeding Room has been finalized and sent off, I find myself stuck in choosing which of my WIPs to pick up and go running with again.  Lately, it seems as if it’s going to be the project I started and quickly abandoned for NaNoWriMo, “The Masks of Our Fathers”.  At 17,000 words in, it knows where it wants to go and the ending has the potential to really challenge me as a writer.

Or there is “The Dark” which, there is no way around it, I’m sure will end up being a very long book.  At 57,000 words, I don’t think I’ve even neared the halfway point for this one.

Lastly, there is the series…which I think is going to finally be given the somewhat awkward title of “The Everything Theory”.  The problem with this is that even though it was started several months before Fringe started airing, the plot has a lot of similarities.  I’m going to need to reevaluate the plot to this before going any further, I think.

As for now, as I try to choose, I have been tying up loose ends on 2 short stories, as well as finishing up Issue #2 of Birdwatching From Mars.  I also need to decide between the 3 possible endings I have planned for Blood Routes.

So, as you can see, there are many decisions to be made.   Now if only work would allow me some time to think about them…

7 comments

  1. Sounds like you have your work cut out for you. Most writers worry about running out of ideas. The other extreme is just as bad.

  2. Thanks guys.

    As of right now, I believe most of the focus is going to be on “The Masks of Our Fathers”. I pretty much know how every facet of it is going to go and I hope it will come smoothly as we get Birdwatching From Mars set to go to press.

Leave a Reply

