Movie Meme

I know I rarely do these meme things, but this one was too good to pass up (although it will probably show JUST how far behind I am on movies…)

1.Name a movie that you have seen more than 10 times: Donnie Darko. It took me two views to understand what was going on.  And then, with a vague sense of what it was about, I watched it several more times to see if I could pick out any “clues” along the way.  And now I watch it just for fun.  Great movie.

2.Name a movie that you’ve seen multiple times in the theater: The only movie I remember watching several times in the theater was the first X-Files film. I watched it six times.

3.Name an actor that would make you more inclined to see a movie: John Cusack.

4.Name an actor that would make you less likely to see a movie: Rob Schneider.  Ugh.

5.Name a movie that you can and do quote from: Too many to name.  The top three are Anchorman, Wayne’s World and, a total step away from these two, The Crow.  There is actually some amazing dialogue in The Crow.

6. Name a movie musical that you know all of the lyrics to all of the songs: I promise I’m not saying this to sound cool, but none.  I hate musicals.  Yes, even (and especially) Grease.

7.Name a movie that you have been known to sing along with: Does Blazin’ Saddles count?

8.Name a movie that you would recommend everyone see: It may be a bit sappy, but Forrest Gump.  I’m tempted to put Donnie Darko here as well but I have had FAR too many friends get mad at me when I made them watch it.  It’s got one of THOSE endings…

9. Name a movie that you own: Dog Soldiers. I am amazed at the number of horror fans that have never seen this movie.  Great werewolf horror with some very clever comedy thrown in.  (see clip below)

10.Name an actor that launched his/her entertainment career in another medium but who has surprised you with his/her acting chops: I’ll go ahead and say it…Will Smith.  I mean, this guy went from singing “Parents Just Don’t Understand” to starring in Seven Pounds.

11.Have you ever seen a movie in a drive-in? If so, what?:  Yup.  Back to the Future 2.

12.Name a movie that you keep meaning to see but just haven’t yet gotten around to it: A Haunting in Connecticut.  I’m a sucker for “true” horror tales.

13. Ever walked out of a movie?: Not by choice.  In college, there was a midnight showing of Evil Dead that my girlfriend begged me to leave.  She was quite the wuss.

14.Name a movie that made you cry in the theater: Again, not trying to sound cool, but none.  I think I MAY have cried at E.T., but I was like 7 years old.

15.What’s the last movie you saw in the theater? I really hate to admit it.  But Ghosts of Girlfriend’s Past. It was my wife’s payback for making her see The X-Files: I Want to Believe.

16.What’s your favorite/preferred genre of movie? It switches.  I like the really unsettling horror movies most of the time, but I also really like the movies that you THINK you hate but after a week of thinking about it, you realize it was an awesome movie.  (Anyone seen The Fountain?)

17.What’s the first movie you remember seeing in the theater? Gremlins, I think.  Or E.T.  Whichever came out first.

18.What movie do you wish you had never seen? Okay, I’ll be the first ti admit that looking back on it, it wasn’t so bad.  But The Blair Witch Project actually screwed me up for like a week or so.  Keep in mind, when I saw it in the theater, I was living with my parents…whom live out in the woods, in the middle of nowhere.  Also, my bedroom was in the basement.  So yeah…

19.What is the weirdest movie you enjoyed? Without a doubt, 100%…Eraserhead.  I love that movie, but it freaks me out AND I feel like I need to shower after watching it…

20.What is the scariest movie you’ve seen? Tough one. And I KNOW I’m going to come off as a wuss but eh, whatever.  Gonna name two movies here…Believe it or not, The Ring scared me a bit.  Not the girl precisely, but just the imagery in the actual “movie”.  That imagery with that odd creepy music just got to me.  No clue why.  And secondly, I about crapped my pants the first time I saw Audition. When the camera is close up to our main character and that friggin bag kinda jumps/lurches in the back, I wasn’t expecting that.  Not really scary per se, but very unexpected.

21.What is the funniest movie you’ve seen? Knocked Up. The scene where Paul Rudd is stoned out of his mind in that hotel room is hilarious.  “Dude…there are FIVE different chairs in this room..”

And now, because I mentioned it earlier, here is one of my favorite scenes from Dog Soldiers. My absolute favorite (a small army guy having a karate fight with a werewolf) could not be found on YouTube.  Warning…there is a fair amount of gore and foul language in this clip.

10 comments

  1. The Crow is an incredible movie for pulling lines from. ‘Oh this is already boring the $&(% out of me. Kill him!’ I love that!

  2. I picked up S. Darko last week, I’m hoping it’s at least half as good as Donnie D.

    I am one of those horror authors who hasn’t seen ‘Dog Soldiers’. Gulp! And I can’t believe you saw Back to the Future II in a drive-in, that must have been awesome.

  3. That’s weird, someone recommended Dog Soldiers to me last week out of the blue. Now I guess I need to see it. After reading everyone’s movie meme answers, I’ve got a bunch of new “must-see” movies on my list. 🙂

  4. So weird, I just saw “Dog Soldiers” for the first time purely by chance a few months ago. It was on SciFi and I stopped to watch it just because it said “Werewolves” in the description and was completely effing hooked instantly. So good.

    I’m kind of surprised you’re the first I’ve seen mention “Donnie Darko”, now that I think of it. It’s so classic.

  5. Dog Soldiers? I’m sorry I haven’t heard of that one until I was browsing Best Buy. Here’s the power of the title: I thought “Dog Soldiers” sounded a bit silly and put it back. Maybe I shouldn’t be too hasty…

  6. It’s nice to see so many more fans of Dog Soldiers. And for those of you that haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

