The Great Destroyer

No writing news to report today.  Well, nothing special anyway.  I have a flash piece that I am seriously thinking about turning into a poem and I am also trying to finish off a very weird fiction/poem hybrid that I plan to send to The New Bedlam Project.

Other quick updates include 5 new colored and nearly finalized pages to Birdwatching from Mars (which looks as if it may be pushed back again) and the first few blurbs for Debris have started to roll in.

Now, for the name of the post.   I don’t care if you’re a fan of Nine Inch Nails or not; Trent Reznor is one of the most brilliant minds in music today…hell, for the past 10 years.  And even though it came out a few years ago and he has released some newer stuff since then, I am still in awe of the Year Zero album.  It’s proof that he can keep his basic styles true while also making new sounds.

Further proof of his unique genius can be seen below.  After the 2:00 mark, many of you may find the music annoying.  But still, watch the lights behind the band and try to imagine being there (I wouldn’t watch if you’re prone to seizures).  Crazy stuff.  Seeing NIN before I die is one of my life’s goals.

3 comments

  1. Good luck with the writing. Sounds like a lot to me, but I am lazy. I got to see NIN in ’94 and ’95 on the same tour. The first time a little band called marilyn manson opened up for them. That was interesting.

  2. Mmm Year Zero.

    I saw NIN after “With Teeth” and it was definitely one of the best shows I’ve ever seen. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you getting your turn.

Leave a Reply

