A “short” break

I made a tough decision today.

I will be taking a break from writing short stories for a while.  Not too long…maybe the rest of the year.  The exceptions to this are the two that I currently have in progress; one is an attempt at the Dead Bells anthology and the other was originally being written as an attempt at Graveside Tales’ The Beast Within 2 anthology, but took on a life of its own.  But other than that, no more short stories for a while.

I have decided to do this for two reasons.  One of them is a project I have been outlining for a few weeks now…a project I will probably talk more about in detail on here in the near future.  It’s going to require quite a bit of attention.  It has waited patiently on the back burner for about a year now and I think it is finally time to give it a try.  The second reason is because of November.  I fully intend to try NaNoWriMo again this year.  I already have most of my novel, tentatively titled The Nowhere Tree, outlined and am very excited to start.

Throw in my intention to also finish the first draft of The Masks of Our Fathers before 2010 begins and I feel that’s more than enough writing stuff going on at once.

Now let’s just see if I can restrain myself from short stories for the next three months.  Let’s just pray no super-cool anthologies open for subs between now and then…

6 comments

  1. I have the same problem, becoming insnared by super-cool anthologies. I’m considering Side Show: Tales from the Big Top and there’s this Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse one. Being a snail-paced writer, I’ll never get to my novella at this rate.

  2. Good luck– we all need these periods of focus when it comes to longer projects, I think. Looking forward to seeing what comes of yours!

Leave a Reply

