30

SoI’m turning 30 today.  It’s the age that I have been dreading since I turned 21.  And while I don’t quite mentally feel 30, I easily feel it physically sometimes.  Also, as far as life goals (or bucket lists, if you will), I realize that time is indeed passing by.

However, it promises to be a pretty good day.  I took the day off of work and will be spending it like this (in order):

  • Putting in a few hours on The Masks of Our Fathers
  • Having lunch with my wife
  • Grabbing a beer and a movie (Zombieland, finally) with my brother
  • Spending the afternoon with the wife and the kids
  • Knocking out King’s Under the Dome (I have about 85 pages left).

So all in all, not a bad way to spend a 30th birthday.  It makes ending closer towards the inevitable a little more tolerable.

9 comments

  1. Happy Birthday, Barry! Now, I’m forty-two, so you’ll get no sympathy from me . . . no really, I hated turning thirty but forty was fantastic. Getting older has its perks. If I tell you what they are, I’d have to kill you, though. So you’ll have to stick it out.

    Enjoy your day.

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I turned 31 this year. I feel younger, so I’m thinking of doing what Kishidan does. Every year, they celebrate the same birthdays: 16, 4, 15, 15, 18, and 16 respectively. It’s a sweet deal : )

  3. Happy Birthday!

    Turning 30 didn’t really bother me, too much. At the time I felt like my youth was gone and I hadn’t accomplished anything.

    Turning 40 was worse. I’d accomplished some things, but my youth was definitely gone.

Leave a Reply

