Goal non-oriented

With the Holiday Rush nearing an end, I am tempted to make a list of sorts in terms of accomplishments for 2010.  But anyone that has read this blog at least on occasion knows how miserable I am with keeping self-made schedules.  So I am not going to torture myself over it.

Instead, I am finding that not forcing myself to devote chunks of time to writing is actually pretty good for creativity.  In the past week or so, I have rewritten a 10 page section to Broken Skies (more on this below) and finished my book of poetry, A Mouth for Picket Fences. I am currently arranging the poems in such a way that they fit thematically into the book’s 3 different parts, currently titled “Normalcy”, “The Darkness Weighs Us” and “(in)Humanity”.  After that and  final run-through, I’ll be sending the manuscript off…a pretty good way to start the New Year, I suppose…high hopes and all that.

The rewrite to Broken Skies is significant for two reasons.  Firstly, the deus ex machina ending I was dreading has become a little less blatant.  Secondly, it is looking to end up being a little less dark fiction/sci fi and more…well, I don’t know, really.  This is going to be a hard one to classify when it comes time to send out queries.  Also, during this rewrite, I had to do a little bit of research on Iceland.  I’ve always been fascinated with the country but now would say that I am nearly borderline obsessed.  Granted, their economy is in the toilet, but with a small population, a 99% literacy rate, an extremely high use of renewable energy and that unexplainably beautiful scenery, what’s not to like?

So maybe…just maybe…I will finally finish Broken Skies sometime in 2010. Wait…didn’t I just say that I wasn’t going to be setting any goals for next year?…

5 comments

  1. It’s funny how changing things up can make the creativity flow so much more freely.

    And mmm, Iceland. Can’t blame you for obsessing. I saw an episode of No Reservations where Anthony Bourdain was there and damn, it was awesome.

  2. Those photos – wow! Otherworldly.

    I think you need to include an ambient tune to go along with each story – how cool would that be?! Maybe a new website feature for you…hmm…

Leave a Reply

