no more excuses

For about two months now, I’ve been using The Final Study of Cooper M. Reid as an excuse for not working on The Masks of Our Fathers.  Now that …Cooper M. Reid is done, I have no further excuses.  Not even any real short stories of merit to distract me.  And the thing with The Masks of Our Fathers is this:

It’s shaping up to be a 50 – 60,000 worder…a range I am not comfortable in.  The story is also all about isolation and fear.  No gore or hack n’ slash to occupy the reader…just internal demons and a world going to hell outside.  Sort of.   It promises to be fun to write (the ending is going to be pure traditional horror) but the internal character development is probably going to kick my ass along the way.  I have posted snippets of it here and there over the past few months, and I will continue to do so in future posts.

Part Gerald’s Game and part The Call of C’thulu, this little tale has turned out to be my Everest for about the last year or so.  And now I suppose it’s time to get to work on it.

3 comments

  1. I think psychological horror is much more difficult to do than straight-up horror. But you’ve done a good job already – Masks of our Fathers has me intrigued! Keep at it!

  2. Part Gerald’s Game and part The Call of C’thulu – It has me sold on this alone. I’ll keep an eye out for your progress on this one.

    Cheers
    Rich

Leave a Reply

