poetry giveaway

Although I am something of a newcomer to the whole poetry publishing business, I am doing my best to stay in the poetry loop.  By simply reading a few blogs on a regular basis, this has been not only easier than expected, but enjoyable.  And in the course of my poetry blog reading, I first learned about the National Poetry Month Giveaway on Kelly Agodon’s blog.  It seems like a wonderful idea and I thought it would be a nice change of pace to offer something other than complaints and monsters on my blog.

So from now until April 29th, leave a comment on this post to enter the giveaway to win the following package:

Death in Common: Poems from Unlikely Victims, from Bandersnatch Books.  This poetry anthology includes poetry from Bob Freeman, Louise Bohmer, James Wrath White, Rich Ristow and some wanna-be named Barry Napier.  While it’s a stretch to call this horror-poetry, the poems in this book are incredibly dark and yet beautiful at the same time.  In fact, the blurb on the back cover indicates that I created a “beautiful despair” in the book’s closing poem.

Emily Dickinson: Selected Poems. Yes, I know that she’s an overused staple of poetry.  But if not for Emily Dickinson, I would ave most likely turned  blind eye to poetry in high school.  While being force fed Shakespeare and Frost, Dickinson sort of snuck up on me and took me by surprise.  And anyone who has read more than a few of her poems knows that she can get quite dark at times.  Her poetry is what essentially got me interested in writing poetry, so hopefully she’ll have the same influence on this contest’s winner as they rediscover her.

And that’s what’s up for grabs.

To enter, just leave a comment on this post between now and April 29th.   And of course, there is a catch. In your post, simply answer the following question:  What one word sounds poetic to you no matter how it is used?  (Mine is “glisten”.  Not sure why).

On April 30th, I’ll throw the names of everyone who left a comment into my large coffee mug and draw one at random.  The winner will be announced on April 30th.

32 comments

  1. I’d love to read both books – Emily never grows old, of course. She always amazes and gives me those heart-leaps I would never dare alone. The most poetic word…. hmmmm. … moonlight. I’m an agnostic Jewess who worships the moon, and moonlight is my natural habitat, fey as that sounds!

    Thank you for being part of this giveaway –

  2. Poetry sits very cleanly in my intellectual blind spot. I wish I had learned more about it in school (not that I made efforts…never read Frost or Dickinson, but I did read a collection from Charles Bukowski this year, which was interesting).

    So, poetic word…”harmony”, I suppose. Not sure why.

  3. Haven’t tried my hand at poetry, however I suspect you’d find lots of inspiration at the blog of one of my favorite writers, the late Thomas M. Disch. He was compulsive about keeping up the blog and with sharing his poetry with the world.

    If you haven’t before, check it out at http://tomsdisch.livejournal.com/. I suspect you won’t be disapointed! And best of luck.

  4. I don’t know what word sounds poetic to me. I suspect it may be ‘upon’ but that may have more to do with The Raven than anything else.

  5. Gossimer seems poetic to me, but overused. For a word that truly says poetry to me, I’d go with solace. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  6. When I asked myself this question, the first word that popped into my mind was “shadow.” I like words that are suggestive, and for me, the word “shadow” definitely is. I also like that it is both a noun and a verb. There are many poems that I love that have shadows at their heart, from Robert Louis Stevenson’s “I have a little shadow…” to Robert Desnos “Le Dernier poeme” (en francais) to name just two of many.

  7. Yes, yes, pick me, pick me. I want the dark poetry anthology. When I sing arias, the Italian words ‘mai piu’ get me every time = NEVER MORE. In English I like derange.

  8. I have been thinking about this for a week now and it’s so hard to make a decision! I think it must change from day to day. Today, it’s a color– red.

  9. Hi Barry, and thanks for this wonderful opportunity, and for your generosity. I’d love to read either book.

    That’s a great question that you ask. Of course, nouns and adjectives are out, so I’m going to have to go with a verb and, in doing so, it’s going to have to be a transitive verb. I’m going to go with “crackling”. It has an expansive energy!

  10. What a cool blog. I will be back. Please throw my name into your giant coffee mug–I’d devour either book. Perennial poetic word: astray

  11. yeah, I know I’m disqualified from winning at least one of the books, and Dickinson I have more than enough of.

    Although, in terms of the “parents” of “American Poetry” you have her on oneside, repping the abstract, and Whitman on the other repping the concrete. So, always an interesting read.

    Words, words, words: there are a few that are just wonderful in terms of sound, “slurp” being a favorite, along side “smarmy”

  12. Damn you, Barry! I’m now thinking about doing this on my blog for the two or three people who read it ever other month.

    I’ll email you if I do.

  13. Thanks very much for this opportunity!
    Would make some great post-exams reading 🙂

    you can contact me at,

    lindsay.veenstra(at)gmail(dot)com

  14. Thank you so much for this opportunity – such a great idea! I produce the Vermont Poetry Newsletter & Poetry Event Calendar, so am looking forward to promoting your book, if I’m lucky enough to be a winner! Ron Lewis

  15. the word that sounds poetic to me, no matter how (or in what matter it’s said) is ‘becoming.’ I say this because, in poetry, anything and anyone can become anything and anyone else. Your experiences can become mine, as mine could become yours, or the person’s next door. That is the amazing thing about poetry…it’s personal, it makes you feel, it takes you there, it is.

    thanks so much for hosting this giveaway.

    please add me!

    stacylynnmar@yahoo.com

  16. Your post says the 29th, unlike the others who say the 30th, so if I am indeed too late, ah well.

    Personally, I just love the way ‘smoke’ sounds. So crisp, but it’s also so fragile sounding.

Leave a Reply

