five years later

I got word today that I can now officially announce the good news.  If you haven’t already heard me buzzing about it on Twitter, my novel The Bleeding Room has been picked up by Graveside Tales for publication in 2011.

Other than being in a state of shock, I am also quite proud of my novel…not in that conceited writer sort of way, but in a parental sort of way.  This novel has taken up nearly five years of my life. This thing was rewritten twice, lost, discovered again on a wrecked USB by my wife, rejected twice, almost published once and now, after another rewrite, it has found a home.  It’s worth noting that one of the rejections was due to length….129,000 words at the time.  It is now down to a svelte 125,700.

So there has been much rejoicing.  I am honored to be a part of Graveside Tales and I can’t wait to begin the production process.

Obviously, more details as they develop.

13 comments

  1. Barry, this is wonderful news indeed. Congratulations, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy it as much as I have everything else of yours!

  2. Dale, I don’t think it’s a secret that GST is all about the quality. I certainly hope The Bleeding Room only adds to the quality of the GST name!

Leave a Reply

