getting crowded in here

It’s hard to explain the feeling that a brand new story idea gives me.  I think most writers struggle with this.  Imagine trying to explain to a non-writer the anxiousness and level of excitement involved in coming up with a new story idea and salivating over the opportunity to pounce on it.

I’ve had two of those moments in the past week…the excitement of a new idea, that is.  I actually don’t find myself in writing-oriented conversations as much as I would like.  This is great, of course, because it means that I have two new things to work on; one is a short story and the other is (damn it) a novel.

I know the novel will get no attention anytime soon, mainly because I don’t know how it will end.  Typically, if I don’t know how/where the story will end, I give it time to grow before committing it to screen.  Still, even though this idea most likely won’t see the light of day for months, it got me to thinking about my writing priorities and why I continuously torment myself over numerous WIPs.  From time to time, the blessed souls that comment on this blog have said things similar to “wow, you’re busy” or “how do you manage so many projects at once?”

While I appreciate the enthusiasm, the real-life scenario is both thrilling and a bit sad.  To explain this, I now give you a look at how I have my writing time segregated.

At the top of the list is a very odd poetry collection/series titled The Only Moth Among the Dark. I am determined to finish this soon because the ideas for the interconnecting poems are fresh and keep blossoming.  The series of 15 poems, all of which tell a story from beginning to end, is looking to be about 50 pages long and will no doubt prove to be next to impossible to find an interested publisher for.  Still, it has been tremendously fun to write it and I am truly hoping to successfully tell a creep story through equally creepy poetry when it is all said and done.

Next in line is The Hellfire Parade, otherwise known as how I have spent my lunch breaks for the past month and a half. This is a novel that is moving very quickly but I am starting to rethink the end of it.  And if you see my comment about concrete endings above, this one may drop a few spots on the list.  Perhaps somewhere below

Keyholes.  This is sort of stalled at the moment because it has reached the point where the YA sensibilities really need to take over.  And apparently, that scares me.  I have never really attempted YA before and for the idea behind Keyholes to work, I think it needs to venture there.  I know what needs to be written and where the plot is going but still…there are days where I want to trash this story because it is either too big for me or not a very good idea.  Any beta-readers that want to weigh in on the 70 pages as they currently exist would be greatly appreciated.  While you dissect it, I could maybe convince myself to dive headfirst back into

The Masks of Our Fathers, which I began as my 2008 NaNoWriMo project.  Now, a year and a half later, that book is only sitting at 27,000 words (due to massive rewrites and nearly giving up).  Truth be told, I would have ditched this story if one particular image didn’t keep popping up in my head…one that I have yet to write but will send this story into A-bomb territory if I can write it as it should be written (the good kind).

Add the 2 short story ideas that I am knitting together and that’s my plate of writing for right now.  There are a few other projects I open from time to time, but only as refreshers so I don’t go stale on the ideas.  Throw Birdwatching From Mars in on that and it may seem like a lot, but that story is as good as written in my head…now I am safe for a while as the artists catch up.

Any similar juggling acts going on out there?  Anyone else starting to feel claustrophobic because of the spawning of ideas?

5 comments

  1. I was just talking about this the other day on my own blog. I much prefer having too many ideas bouncing around at once than not, and I’m similar to you in that if I don’t know how things are going to turn out, I am happy to let the idea sit & percolate for a while. I liken the ideas to mushrooms that seem to pop up overnight. My only complaint is not having the time to do everything all at once, but hopefully we will both get to all of these ideas eventually – and both continue to have more to replace the ones we finish 🙂

  2. I love that feeling, but, yeah…it is usually hammered into reality the moment I open my flash drive to create a new project folder and see the other twenty folders sitting there, looking back at me, chirping like hungry chicks.

  3. Yessir. I find that ideas strike me and I really, really itch to write them. Some of the flow out of my head in remarkable fashion, others literally die on the screen.

    I’ve started catching lots of old ideas and dragging them together for a potential novel, but I still have a bunch of novella/short story ideas hanging around, plus 3 wip’s languishing in ‘I don’t know the ending hell’.

    I’d be happy to take a look at your 70 pages. Drop me a line at arthurritus3000@aol.com if you want me to take it on.

    Rich

  4. Oh yes, I always have several projects in varying states of decay, disuse, activity, and growth. It’s just a state of being, and I’m not sure we know how to be otherwise, once we start. I’d feel too strange without them, in spite of them driving me quite mad.

    You have an excessively busy brain. But I’m convinced that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

