when stories play nice

I have made no attempt to hide the fact that my many WIPs going on at once can be quite overwhelming. Usually, this results in me spending more time trying to decide which one to work on rather than actually writing them. And while the WIP list is still pretty long (and most of them are novels…my short story tally for 2010 so far is only two and only one of them is any good), I am slowly learning that when I stop bickering with myself over which one should be more important, the stories actually have no problem in sharing my time.

In the past two weeks, I have managed to balance two of them without much headache. (Well, three if you include scripting Birdwatching from Mars).  Between lunch breaks and a few writing sessions at home, I have managed reach the 33,000 word mark on The Hellfire Parade and a very odd 7,500 words on the overachieving novel that I have decided not to speak about on here until I know it is going to actually go somewhere.

What’s more is that my other projects don’t seem to be too jealous.  The Masks of Our Fathers in particular seems to sense that if it just waits its turn, it will get my undivided attention soon.  (Of course, this is a novel that has gotten cocky in that it knows that I will never scrap it because the planned ending is too interesting not to write…)

Okay, so now that the kids/stories are playing nice, it’s time to be productive…

6 comments

  1. Haha, what Aaron said– nice to know they care, isn’t it? I mean, if you have to have a problem, this is the one to have.

  2. I’m glad to hear that the WIPes are going well. Also, I must say, I fucking LOVE this layout you have. I’m very jealous of it. :X

Leave a Reply

