a colorless world

I’ll keep this one short and sweet.

When we made the rather forced decision to switch Birdwatching from Mars from a full color title to black and white, I was upset at first.  That then led to a defeated sort of state.

After seeing some of the final panels, those fears have been killed.  Here’s one of the best examples. (Click to enlarge)

I don’t know if it’s me being overly optimistic, but I think there are certain aspects of the black and white version that make the world seem more dead…and that works well for the feel we’re trying to achieve for Birdwatching from Mars. I also like how it lends a very stripped feel to everything, particularly the character’s faces.  Looking ahead to certain scenes that have been plotted, mapped, and scripted, I feel that the black and white approach will also work for some of the more brutal scenes as well.

As potential readers (hopefully) what are your thoughts?

4 comments

  1. It works, absolutely.

    A lot of my favorite titles as a kid were indie black and whites. And when it comes to your particular subject matter, well… black and white works, man. It can work for ANYTHING, but you guys, with that beautiful art and the subject matter? Oh yeah.

    I’ll pay for it!

Leave a Reply

