the kids are alright

Often when I am taking the kids to either daycare of pre-school, I’m asked right away to put in one of “their” CDs.  This usually consists of Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Backyardigans songs (and yes, I do have a soft spot for the Backyardigans*).

But from time to time, I get no requests and listen to whatever I want.  This was how my daughter, at two and a half years old, learned most of the words to the “Blitzkreig Bop” by the Ramones.  She sings the “hey, ho, let’s go” chorus from time to time around the house, totally unprompted.  See me, the proud father.

I can now add  my 2 and a half year old son to the list of musical influence I have distributed through my house.  While I am not totally happy that he now recognizes and sings the bridge part to “Psycho Killer” by the Talking Heads, its…well, you know, the Talking Heads.

How awesome are my kids?

*For those of you unfamiliar with the Backyardigans, here’s one of my favorites…

2 comments

  1. Okay, I will now be singing that Yeti Stomp song all weekend. And I’m not sad about that, cuz it’s adorable.

    So are your kids, clearly.

  2. Oh no! When I went to Texas & stayed with my sis & baby nephew, all we watched were Backyardigans. That theme song haunts me…

Leave a Reply

