switching things up

I had to change the blog set up.  I did this for several reasons.

First, while I loved the old layout and design, it was pretty hard on the eyes…light gray on a storm cloud background is not exactly easy to read.  Plus, if I’m being honest, it was getting boring to me.  Now I just need to check out this template to see if I can figure out how to get this text to be darker.  Any gurus that know your stuff, feel free to drop a comment and let me know.

Secondly, I’ve read that blogs worth distracting background are often passed by when new readers find them.  This layout is sort of a nice compromise; it’s not totally plain, but pretty close.

The coming weeks will see a change in my blogging habits.  Last year, I blogged every other day and was managing to get a nice trickle of traffic.  Then I started ding the marketing thing, especially after delving into the Kindle-infested waters.  After that, blog traffic got sluggish.  My number of weekly visitors has dropped by almost 40% since then (that’s right, I did math!).

So here’s me, stating that I will do a better job of keeping this blog fresh and up to date.  The fact that this post was basically worthless (hey, see the new design!) is likely not a good sign, though…

Leave a Reply

