The Bleeding Room Giveaway: True Ghost Stories Contest

Last week, I shared one of my own personal supernatural experiences.  If you need a refresher, you can read it here.  In addition, Bob Freeman shared his own account from his paranormal investigations which you can read here.

That concept led to me conjuring up a contest, but I am not very good at coming up with these sorts of things.  Of course, leave it to word-guru and all around awesome individual Cate Gardner to provide an idea that gave my initial concept some very spooky legs.

Now, in the spirit of The Bleeding Room, I have decided that it’s now your turn to share your own ghost stories.  I want to hear some of your true real-life ghost and/or horror stories.

To enter the contest, here’s what you need to do:

On your own blog, tell us your own personal supernatural account and link it to this post.  If you don’t have a blog of your own, feel free to simply leave a comment under this post and mention it elsewhere (Facebook, Twitter, wherever). The honor system is in place here, so I’m trusting you guys not to make something up just to enter.  I want to hear your real life ghost stories, unexplained encounters, horrific tales, etc.  I understand that not everyone can be so (un)fortunate as to have been involved in such a thing.  If you are among this group, feel free to share tales of popular ghost stories from your area, accounts from relatives, legends you heard as a child, unique “real life” ghost stories you’ve seen on Unsolved Mysteries, or anything of that nature.

After posting this to your blog, let me know in the comments section of this post.  Provide a link in your comment.

You have 2 weeks to enter (I will stop taking entries at midnight, September 14th).  After that, I will provide a post with the names and links all entrants.  There will be 2 winners.  One winner will be selected by readers between September 15th – September 18th and the other will be selected via random drawing.

The prizes are:

For most popular among readers, you’ll win a signed copy of The Bleeding Room and a rather nifty set of 12 DVDs titled 50 Horror Classics.  This collection includes some greats (before their inferior remakes) including Nosferatu, The House on Haunted Hill, Night of the Living Dead, Little Shop of Horrors, and The Last Man on Earth.  It is also full of B-movies that would feel at home on Mystery Science Theater (my personal favorites being Dementia 13 and The Last Woman on Earth).

Winner of the random drawing will receive a signed copy of The Bleeding Room.

That’s it folks.  Start thinking about that one single experience that has stayed with you and maybe even had you lose a bit of sleep.  I expect to see some great entries and, more importantly, that we’ll all have a bit of fun in the process.

10 comments

  1. Just found out about this now (I’m behind on my social media). I was going to post a brief write-up i did for someone else, but it it now too late…ah, what the heck, I’ll post it anyway. 🙂

    —-
    Wow, where do I begin? I have much to draw from, and some of my old friends even more so. I could talk about my encounters with Shadowmen (seen by me and people I was with) over the years. I could mention the gathering of fantastical bipedal creatures (gnomes and other imp-ish things) I saw dancing in my backyard as a teen (no, never a drug user), scaring and taunting me for several minutes. I was once chased by a destructive shadow form and a few large scorpions–alone, in the desert south of Death Valley. Stood my ground in a house with unearthly noises and every door was opening and slamming (scaring everyone else out)–it absolute chaos around me. I stood and declared “I’m not afraid of you” which instantly cast the house into a dead silence. I could describe my uncanny precognitive dreams as a child or my reliable earthquake predictions as a teen living in California. My wife and I being blatantly ‘touched’ by an unseen force who had the courtesy to dim the lamp-light first (we both watched the gold knob turn before our eyes). UFOs? Saw two of those. Suffocating pressure, paintings with moving eyes, an old-time safe handle becoming red-hot before us, and even burning a friend’s hand (there were four of us witnessing this BTW) all within 20 minutes of visiting the Stanley Hotel? Yep, will never forget that experience. An old iron windmill awash in the damn scariest green glow you have ever seen — spinning, spinning, creaking — while slowly driving on a winding road one night with my brother. Yeah, and it impacted us so much that we returned the next day — in the daylight — to find the blades rusted in place. My brother hung from them, and it didn’t budge. We both hung from them, they didn’t budge (I alone was 300lbs at the time). Well, these are a few of my supernatural stories…

    (Everything is 100% true)

  2. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everybody else encountering issues with your website. It appears like some of the text in your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

