5 reasons I’m geeked out for Prometheus

While the rest of you are likely excited about that blip on the radar with Christian Bale and Anne Hathaway (something to do with some guy in a bat costume), I have been anxiously waiting for Prometheus ever since Damon Lindelof tweeted about it last year.

How excited am I?  Well, let’s see.  I’m an X-Files mark if there ever was one.  I was not quite this excited when I Want to Believe was released.

Sure, it’s just a movie, but there are 5 very important factors to be considered here, on a personal level.

5.  By the end of the 5th season of Lost, I was convinced that Lindelof was a master story-teller.  Think of all of the bobbing and weaving of plot holes, character arcs and a self-inlficted deadline he and Carlton Cuse were dealing with while wrapping up the series.  Now take the complexity of the time travel, the  multiple universes (if you look at season 6 a particular way), and the inter-connectedness of the characters and cram all of that talent into the prequel (his denials be damned) of one of the most groundbreaking sci-fi movies of all time.

With his proven ability to go back in time and make an already-told story that much richer, I’m excited to see what he can do with Ridley Scott’s Alien universe.

4.  Growing up, I was the only one of my friends that didn’t see the big deal about the Star Wars films.  To this day, I’m still not interested.  Instead, I was always enamored with Alien.  And when Aliens was released, I think I watched it on VHS about 200 times (I still own it and continue to hail Bill Paxton’s role as one of the best in 80s sci-fi).  The Alien films were my Star Wars.  Even Alien 3 blew me away…something I appreciated even more as I grew up and realized who David Fincher was.

So yeah…you know how excited the Star Wars fans were for Episode 1? That’s me right now.  Here’s hoping this prequel attempt is much more successful than The Phantom Menace.

3. The atmosphere.  Ridley Scott shooting a sci-fi film in Iceland.  Nothing more needs to be said.

2. Other than Firefly, I’m not certain I can remember the last time a huge sci-fi project that featured an actual spacecraft as part of its core.  Sure, there was Event Horizon but I’m still not convinced that was a sci-fi movie as much as it was a much overlooked horror gem.

From the previews and featurettes I’ve seen, the ship looks amazing.  Truth be told, it takes a lot for me to care about a hard-core science fiction principle like a spaceship, but this has me excited for some reason.

1. From what I am reading and hearing in interviews, there’s likely going to be another prequel type film to Alien that stems off of Prometheus.  This is probably mostly just speculation for right now, since I don’t think Scott or Lindelof have actually come out and said so.

BONUS: When was the last time there was this much hype over a sci-fi film?  If Prometheus does as well as people are expecting, I think this could cause a resurgence in sci-fi films, seeing as how Hollywood has sunk into the copy/paste mentality over the past few years.  And, greedy as always, if sci-fi becomes a hot ticket again, it surely paves the way for a green light for a third X-Files film.

What? Did you think I’d write a sci-fi centric post without giving my one true sci-fi love it’s due…?

Leave a Reply

