unpopular opinions

With the Olympics, the Chick-Fil-A debates, and the gun control discussions everyone is having in the wake of the Dark Knight Rises shootings, I’ve heard a lot of arguments and opinions over the past few weeks.  Some of the opinions have been very heated and unpopular.

While I am not one to cast my own line into these types of discussions in a public forum, I think the dust has settled enough so that I can share some of my own unpopular (for the most part) opinions with all of you.

I never cared for Star Wars. I’ve seen all six films and while I think Return of the Jedi was the best of them, I never understood the fascination my friends had with it.  I think I’ve seen Jedi twice and the others only once.  Meh.

I enjoyed Teen Wolf more than Back to the Future.

I can’t watch most Seinfeld episodes more than once. The character of Kramer annoys me to no end…so much that I find the show painful to watch at times.

On the other hand, I think Friends is remarkably funny. Let it be known though, that I assumed it to be a dopey and pointless show while it was on the air. Now in re-runs and DVD, I think seasons 3 – 5 are some of the best comedy ever written for television.

I never saw the big deal about the Beatles.

I never saw the big deal about Frank Sinatra.

I never cared for the Rolling Stones. Don’t know why, honestly. I have yet to hear a Rolling Stones song that intrigued me enough to listen to it all the way through…

I think Leonard Cohen is a better songwriter than Neil Young (although Young’s “Going Home” is easily in my Top 25 Songs Ever list).

I think the ending to Lost, while a bit cheesy, was perfect for the series.

I have seen only a handful of Buffy episodes.  Same for Firefly.  This is why, I assume, I don’t fully understand all the Whedon-worship.

The Fourth Kind is easily the creepiest/scariest movie I’ve seen in the past 5 years or so.

The Dark Tower > The Lord of the Rings

I’m more excited about the possibility of Clive Barker’s third “Book of the Art” than King’s planned Dr. Sleep, the announced sequel to The Shining.

Norm MacDonald was/is the funniest cast member of Saturday Night Live since Eddie Murphy.

At the request of my wife, I read the first Twilight book.  For the first 25-30 pages or so, I honestly didn’t see why it was being so badly trashed.  Then Bella met all the vampirey folks, fell in love and…yeah well, it was all downhill from there.

I remain convinced that when we look back at music history 25 years from now, Nine Inch Nails’ The Downward Spiral will prove to be more influential and groundbreaking that Nirvana’s Nevermind.  (A hard comment for me to say, as I love both).

I thoroughly enjoyed the Harry Potter books but honestly didn’t like the character of Harry much at all.

I am purposefully waiting to watch The Avengers after it comes to DVD because the hype around it annoyed the hell out of me.

How about you fine folks?  Add your own unpopular opinions in the comments.

3 comments

  1. Here’s an unpopular one for our generation: Nirvana’s In Utero > Nirvana’s Nevermind (hands down, not even close, not even a contest. I’d even go as far as saying that Nevermind doesn’t even make my Top 100 albums. Downward Spiral by NIN eats it for lunch all day, every day)

Leave a Reply

