thoughts about ghostwriting

A few weeks ago, I figured that if I was going to be stuck doing freelance writing until/if the writing takes off, I might as well enjoy it. So I started looking for some really fun jobs. Through that, I landed a ghostwriting job for a novel.

This is the first time I will have fully ghostwritten a novel and I am learning a lot about not just the process, but about my own writing as well.  So for those of you that have ever wondered if ghostwriting a novel might be a fun endeavor as a side project, here are some things I have learned about the process over the last couple of weeks.

  • It’s fun. I purposefully took on a genre that I am not a big fan of and am completely unfamiliar with writing (no, not erotica). It’s helping me stretch my writing muscles and is actually one of the better exercises for thinking outside of the box I have ever gone through.
  • It sucks. I could be working on my own writing. But until my own writing pays the bills, this is what I have to do.
  • The pay is confusing.  In terms of hours put in, the pay looks awesome from the outside. But then when you get into actual creative output and energy behind it, it makes you feel almost like a prostitute.
  • You meet new personalities within yourself. I have tried writing this book from the perspective of a totally different writer. If I write a phrase for it that resembles Barry Napier at all, I trash it and writing something else. There are a few personalities competing for ownership of this project; one is downright mean and really likes to use short sentences.

Anyone else out there ever ghostwritten? Are these feelings just me or are they pretty universal?

Leave a Reply

