How’s Your Twitter Pitch?

Ah, how times change.

At one time, we were told as writers to have an Elevator Pitch ready for our books…a brief description of your book that could be expressed in a single elevator ride. At one point I was told that this should be around 200-250 words, although I don’t know that this is an exact science.

Not that it matters. Because now the Elevator Pitch has evolved (or, perhaps, devolved) into the Twitter Pitch.

I can’t help but marvel at some of the Twitter Pitches I see. Some are quite good. As a wordy author, I find it hard to express just about anything in 140 characters or less, much less a summation of one of my novels. Still, I know it can be done. I see it done every day and there is even still room to drop a link to the book’s Amazon page. These authors impress me.

Trying to draft an effective Twitter Pitch is like trying to write a perfect haiku. Every word, neigh, every letter needs to have a purpose.

Today, I wrote one for The Hollows that could probably be stronger. It reads: Her son being kidnapped was bad enough. But the place he is being taken makes it worse.

I plan to come up with at least 3 Twitter Pitches for each of my novels in the next few days and sprinkle them over Twitter sometime in the future. Writing these things is eerily reminiscent of the copywriting I was doing a few years ago where I had to come up with numerous headlines and sub-headlines for boring articles. But there is a certain art to crafting an effective Twitter pitch that is very much like successful copywriting. It’s actually sort of fun.

Here’s a try at one for both Everything Theory books: Gabe could maybe outlive his marred past if only his deranged father’s failed experiments would stop ruining his life.

Needs work but it’s a good start, I suppose. (Of course, if you’ve read the books, you know it’s impossible to sum it up in a single Twitter post).

Now let’s try it with some well known books.

Stephen King’s The Stand: “The flu. The devil. A dangerous trek across a destroyed landscape. M-O-O-N. That spells The Stand.”

Ernest Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea: “Even his obsession with Joe DiMaggio won’t stop him from catching that big ass fish.”

Cormac McCarthy’s The Road: “The most depressing, grim and hopeless road trip ever.”

Share your own Twitter Pitches in the comments.

One comment

Leave a Reply

