Old Favorites (or The Return of Cooper M. Reid)

As of late, I have stopped talking about where ideas come from and the inspiration behind my stories. And for good reason…unless specifically asked, most readers don’t seem to really care.

But I’m making an exception today.

About five years ago, I had a chapbook published through the now-defunct Strange Publications. It was titled The Final Study of Cooper M. Reid and told the story of an agent that worked for a shadow branch of the government. The story told of his disappearance during a particularly strange case in Kansas and It did not have a particularly happy ending.

The character never left me and I wished I hadn’t written him off. I ended up writing a few short stories that have remained on my USBs over the years where Cooper was a featured character….both before and after his disappearance in The Final Study of Cooper M. Reid. But earlier this year, I started writing a novel and within 3 lines of outlining, I knew this book was tailor made for Cooper.

The result?

dark water 6 copy

Yup. Cooper M. Reid is back in a very big way, and this definitely won’t be the last you see of him.

Dark Water, the first Cooper M. Reid novel, will be available within the next few days. Newsletter subscribers will be getting a free sneak peek before anyone else. So if you haven’t subscribed yet, took in the column to the right and remedy that.

Leave a Reply

