All the Roads

From time to time, you’ll hear a writer say  “now is the best time in history to be a writer.” While I won’t go quite that far with such a statement, I think it is pretty close. Because of self-publishing, something that still continues to gain a lot of steam and respect, there are more avenues open to aspiring writers than ever before and not just for the obvious reasons.

I currently find myself in a situation I have never been in over the course of my writing career (if it can be called that). I am extremely fortunate to find that I currently have a car in each of those avenues. How? Well…

As of two weeks ago, I have a full manuscript being considered by an agency. This has been a goal of mine since I started writing and even in a world where self publishing allows authors more control, I think it’s still a crucial aspect of the writing industry.

I am also currently writing a novel for a small press. And although that book likely won’t see the light of day until the end of 2016 or even early 2017, it’s a book I’ll be writing off and on this year, knowing that it already has a home.

I am also actively working on a large book that may or may not end up being a trilogy…the same trilogy I’ve been working on for the last two years or so. The current plan is to self-publish it.

Three projects, three different approaches. So maybe it is the greatest time in history to be a writer. Just don’t get me started on which of those avenues is the best way to go. So far, my small press earnings are about the same as my self-publishing earnings and when you put them all together, I’m still not making enough to quit the day job (which, being ghostwriting, is I guess yet another avenue a writer could take these days).

A lot of writers and industry insiders will also tell you that one avenue is by far the most advantageous. And while they may have personal data and facts to back that up, I still think it’s a writer’s best bet to keep your feet or tires or whatever in every road you can.

 

 

Leave a Reply

