Because No One Cares and I Have Changed

Hey, have you noticed I am not writing here much anymore. Like, not at all.

That’s because I am of the opinion that no one reads blogs anymore…and certainly not the blog of a writer that’s not selling tons of books.

However, times are changing. Not for blogs. I think they’re pretty much going the way of the dinosaur. But this website/blog is going to change pretty soon because I have changed over the last few years.

I look back to those posts from that younger hungry writer that had just sent The Bleeding Room to agents and publishers and while I can recognize him, he and I have agreed that I am a different writer now. 2015-2016 were years of changes and 2017 is going to be the year to realize those changes through a lens of writing.

Most of those changes, you’ll get to see here in a few different ways. Not here, in this post but here, on this site.

Some are coming soon. Some are already hinted at here and there if you know where to look.

Here’s to continued changes.

See you on the other side of the cocoon.

3 comments

  1. I think it’s going the opposite route: blogs are coming back and social media is taking a backseat. A trend I notice is that people don’t like or share blogs as much on social media as they once did (very, very little actually), so there’s the appearance of less engagement; but the reality, for me, is that they still click to get to the blog and on-site time is much better. I’m only speaking from my personal experience with my own blog, which increased traffic by 4x the amount from the previous year and gained about 9x the subscribers and is rapidly growing.

    With that said, the bulk of my traffic does not come via Facebook or social sharing. It comes through repeat visitors and new visitors through search engines, which is why I’ve made it a point of emphasis lately to optimize the SEO of my site and individual posts to include headers, subheads, etc. so the Google spiders find and rank my site better. Before I just slung up text on my site and hit publish without thinking carefully about even the title of a post, which was lazy of me, and, as a result, harmed my words reaching more readers.

    One of my favorite writers, Brad Listi, who hasn’t blogged in years, made the same comment recently (that he believes blogs are coming back and that social media has caused fatigue among its user base). Because of this, he is going to start blogging again. He tends to be on top of trends like this ever since I’ve known him — to the point it’s almost like he can predict the future. He became an LA Times bestseller by engaging MySpace a decade ago, and turned The Nervous Breakdown into an online powerhouse, which helped launch the careers of everyone from Jonathan Evison to Cheryl Strayed. If not for the success of The Nervous Breakdown, his successful podcast wouldn’t exist and he would have never sat down with the likes of literary giants George Saunders or Jonathan Franzen.

    I think the key is to blog often and to set expectations with readers. If you come to a watering hole and it’s dry, you’ll go somewhere else to quench your thirst; so there has to be consistency. Otherwise, yes, blogging is pointless. I personally feel blogs can hold more power than most books because they can reach more people. Most books don’t sell well, and most authors know that.

    I write a blog to share my thoughts and work through my understanding of the world around me. A book does not make a writer. Words do.

    I have a blog in queue about those two last sentences actually.

    Final thoughts

    Twitter is largely worthless. Even the data from extremely popular blogs shows that people simply don’t engage past Twitter’s own site.

    The comments sections on a blog is also not a good measuring stick. It’s a terrible one. I’ve gone back and forth on whether to leave comments on or turn them off, because seeing “No comments” can make me feel as if no one is reading. The data says the opposite, however. My blog is growing exponentially.

    To each his own, of course, but I always enjoyed reading your blog when you’d post a new one, though it was few and far between posts.

  2. Thanks for the kind words, Jeff. And the creepy ones, Johann. Jeff, you’ve convinced me to try to breathe new life into the blog. Well, you and some research I did on my own. Glad to have you as a constant reader.

Leave a Reply

